View Reports by Status
  • Published
  • Pending
  • Overdue
  • 2.
    Search Reports
    Register to receive report status email notification.

    Document Summary
    - Report Published -

    Report Document No. 19
    View PDF Version*

    Document Title
    Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Commission 2010 Annual Report

    Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Commission

    Enabling Authority
    30-272 (8.)

    Executive Summary

    The Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Commission was created in 2006, the first of its kind in the nation, for the purpose of preparing for and commemorating the sesquicentennial of Virginia's participation in the American Civil War. The Commission is charged with:

    • Planning commemorative programs and activities that are designed to involve all citizens and result in a positive legacy and long-term public benefit;

    • Encouraging civic, historical, educational, economic, and other organizations throughout Virginia to organize and participate in activities to expand the understanding and appreciation of the significance of the American Civil War; and

    • Providing technical assistance to localities and nonprofit organizations to further the commemoration of the sesquicentennial of the American Civil War.

    Members of the Commission are:

    Speaker William J. Howell, Chairman
    Sen. Charles J. Colgan, Sr. Vice-Chairman

    Del. T. Scott Garrett
    Del. Algie T. Howell, Jr.
    Del. Johnny S. Joannou
    Del. Mark L. Keam
    Del. L. Scott Lingamfelter
    Del. Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

    Sen. R. Creigh Deeds
    Sen. John S. Edwards
    Sen. Janet D. Howell
    Sen. Mamie E. Locke
    John P. Ackerly, III
    Dr. Paul A. Levengood
    Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.

    Virginia is recognized as the national leader of the sesquicentennial by virtue of its strong state support, comprehensive initiatives, and inclusive approach. At least 26 other states have established planning commissions, although only a few have received funding. The American Association of State and Local History (AASLH) plays a coordinating role and Commission staff participates in quarterly conference calls with representatives from other states to share information and seek ways to work collaboratively. In the absence of a federal commission, the sesquicentennial commemoration nationwide is being led by each state individually, with strong grassroots participation at the local and regional level.

    Local participation in Virginia remains strong. Nearly all of the 134 counties and cities in Virginia have formed local sesquicentennial committees to plan events at the local level and work with the Commission. The Commission supports local committees through a matching grant program, Statewide Calendar of Events, and by providing programs within the localities such as the "Civil War 150 Legacy Project: Document Digitization and Acces"s and the "Civil War 150 HistoryMobile." Staff meets with local committee representatives regionally and disseminates information through a listserv for local committee members, Facebook, and Twitter.

    The work of the Commission is enhanced by the efforts of the Virginia Sesquicentennial of the American Civil War Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation that was established in 2007 to raise private funds in support of the sesquicentennial commemoration. The Foundation's Board of Trustees is comprised of: William J. Howell (Chair), Charles J. Colgan (Vice Chair), Dr. Charles F. Bryan, Jr., J. Alfred Broaddus, Dr. Irvin E. Hess, Algie T. Howell, Jr., Eddie N. Moore, Jr., and Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.